Online Voter Registration

AlabamaAlaskaArizonaCaliforniaColoradoConnecticutDelawareFloridaGeorgiaHawaii, IdahoIllinoisIndianaIowaKansasKentuckyLouisianaMarylandMassachusettsMinnesotaMissouriNebraskaNevadaNew Mexico, New YorkOhioOklahoma*, OregonPennsylvaniaRhode IslandSouth CarolinaTennesseeUtahVermontVirginiaWashingtonWest Virginia, Wisconsin, and the District of Columbia, currently or will soon offer online voter registration.

*OKLAHOMA: Enacted in April 2015, but still not implemented as of August 2018

register to vote by mail or in person

American Samoa, Arkansas, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Montana, New Hampshire, New Jersey, North Dakota, Puerto Rico, South Dakota, Texas, and WyomingGuam and Northern Mariana Islands are territories and are not allowed to participate in federal elections. Each gets one nonvoting delegate to the US House of Representatives. They do not send delegates to the party primaries however.

Pre-Register to vote

CaliforniaColorado, District of ColumbiaDelawareFloridaHawaiiLouisianaMaineMarylandMassachusettsNew JerseyNorth CarolinaOregonRhode Island, Utah, and Washington allow or have enacted legislation allowing 16 or 17 year-olds to pre-register to vote even if they won’t turn 18 before Election Day. 

Voting in california 

Register to Vote in California if you are 18 or older
Pre-Register to Vote in California if you are 16 or 17 years old
Find your polling station in California
Guide to Voter Registration Drives 
Volunteer to register new citizens to vote in the Bay Area
Check your voter registration status in California

voting in san francisco

  • Polling Places and Sample Ballot Lookup

  • If you don’t have a fixed address: You can still vote: by registering using cross streets.

  • Former Felons: Even if you've been convicted of a felony, you can vote as long as you’re off parole.

  • Missed the 10/21 deadline to register to vote: Head to City Hall to register and vote right up through Election Day. From November 2-5, you can also register and vote at SFSU Towers Conference Center.

  • Youth: If you’re 16 or 17, pre-register and your registration will be activated automatically when you turn 18.

  • San Francisco online practice ballot.

Want to confirm that you are a registered voter? Check your status here.